Formerly an active swimming destination, George Friedrich Park is a unique property located in East St. Cloud, at the end of University Drive. The park was once the site of Gottfried Hilder’s granite quarry business before it was purchased in 1934 by St. Cloud State University. The park was named for George Friedrich, a biology professor at SCSU who was responsible for the university’s purchase of the land. During the years that the university owned it, swimming and diving meets were even held there in the spacious, blue waters. However, no swimming is allowed in the park as it is today.
The 50+ acre park has since been purchased by the City of St. Cloud, and in 2015 it opened to the public. With trails that are perfect for hiking, skiing, snow-shoeing and just exploring, it is truly a unique and beautiful place to get away.